About the Faculty

The Faculty of Hindu studies is the newly established Faculty of the University of Jaffna under the direction of the Higher Education Minister’s Order of establishment is gazetted on the 18th of March 2019,Gazette No:5/2115 The Faculty comprises three departments Viz: Deprtment of Hindu Civilization, Department of Saiva Siddhanta and Department of Sanskrit.

Faculty of Hindu Studies offers degree programmes in Hindu Civilization, SaivaSiddhanta. and Sanskrit. These Departments offer Postgraduate Programmes leading to Diploma, M.A, M.Phil. and Ph.D, Degrees These three departments offer General degree and Special degree programmes in three study disciplines leading to B.A. Degree, B.A. Honours Degree.


to be a Centre of Excellence in Sri Lanka devoted to empower the prospective intellectuals to foster and promote Hindu Studies with emphasis on Hindu Culture, Saiva Siddhanta and Sanskrit Literature.


to produce competent graduates who excel in disseminating and preserving the multi-disciplinary aspects of Hindu Heritage   by providing excellent teaching and learning environment and undertaking research and scholarship.

Faculty News & Events

முதலாவது சர்வதேச இந்து மாநாடு 2022 -

“இந்துநாகரிகம் ஓர் உலகளாவிய தரிசனம்”

முதலாம் வருட முதலாம் அணி (2020/21 கல்வியாண்டு) மாணவர்களுக்கான திசைமுகப்படுத்தல் நிகழ்வு

Siva Yogaswami Memorial Lecture – 2022

Title: “The wisdom of Yogaswami from Jaffna - reaching all around the world”
by Rishi Thondunathan Swami, Disciple of Gurudeva Sivaya Subramuniyaswami Hawaii Saiva Adheenam. (25.03.2022)

Professor K.Kailasanatha Kurukkal Memorial Lecture – 2022

Title: “The Role of Sri Lanka Women Enhancing Hindu Civilization”
by Dr.(Mrs)V.Pavanesan, Head/Dept. of Saiva Siddhantha. (23.02.2022)

A Special Visit – Director, Indian Cultural Center Dr.Rewant Vikram Singh

A Meeting was conducted by the Faculty of Hindu Studies. Vice Chancellor, invited Deans of the Faculties and the members of the Faculty of Hindu Studies were present (22.02.2022)

Guest Lecture on Digital Humanities- Conducted by Department of Sanskrit (28.01.2022)

பொங்கல் விழா 2022

தைப்பொங்கல் தினத்தை முன்னிட்டு 18.01.2022 அன்று எமது பீடத்தில் நடைபெற்ற பொங்கல் விழாவின் சில பதிவுகள்.